< Back to News
Arches Sports Awards 2016
Arches Sports Awards 2016

Tuesday 11th July 2016 brought a fantastic opportunity for the Arches School Sport Partnership to celebrate a fantastic year in sport across our schools in Sheffield with our School Sport Awards Evening based at Forge Valley School. The evening was designed to recognise a number of schools, teachers, children and teams for their hard work in pushing the development of PE and sporting opportunities.

The Arches School sport Partnership were lucky enough to be joined on the evening by the Sheffield Sharks Basketball Team captain Mike Tuck. Mike has been with the Sheffield Sharks for a number of years and is a huge role model in terms of basketball within the city, lifting the BBL trophy this year as well as winning a personal award of MVP in the final. It was great to hear Mike's story and how important sport is to him.

There was a raffle held on the evening with some great prizes including Apple TV, Football Tickets, Basketball Tickets, Ice Hockey tickets, Family Swim Vouchers, Signed Football by Sheffield Wednesday and loads more. Thank you to all people/ partners/ organisations who donated prizes for our special evening.

The Awards and Winners were as follows:

Outstanding Change 4 Life Club- Marlcliffe Primary School
Outstanding School- Club Link- Sacred Heart & Hallamshire Harriers Athletics Club
Primary Sports Leader of the Year- Cameron Connor- Malin Bridge Primary
Secondary Sports Leader of the Year- Hope Jessop & Lia Moore- Hinde House
Primary Sports Personality of the Year Y3/4- Alex Yeardly- Monarch- Shooters Grove
Primary Sports Personality of the Year Y5/6- Jabob Turner- Marlcliffe Primary School
Team of the Year-  Hinde House Cheerleading and Dance Team
Highly Commended PE Coordinator of the Year- Tania Marsden, Pye Bank
Winner PE Coordinator of the Year- Steve Green, Malin Bridge Primary
Secondary School of the Year- Hinde House Secondary Phase
Highly Commended Primary School of the Year- Rivelin Primary School
Winner Primary School of the Year- Pye Bank CE Primary School